Looking for Volunteers!


We are pushing our coordinate campaign efforts via voter registration, phone banking and canvassing. We are always looking for volunteers to assist in these efforts. We’re pushing to do as many of the remaining weekends for the next two months leading up to the election.

If you’d like to get involved and volunteer, please send us a message here, on social media, or stop by our local HQ at 1701 SE Main St.


Paul Romero


Democratic Candidates for the 2018 General Election

The following are the winners of the 2018 New Mexico Democratic Primary held on June 5, 2018. They move on to the General Election which will be held NOVEMBER 6, 2018.

Click on the names to visit their websites.

U.S. Senator – Martin Heinrich

U.S. Congress CD1 – Deb Haaland

U.S. Congress CD2 (Our District) – Xochitl Torres Small

U.S. Congress CD3 – Ben Ray Lujan

Governor – Michelle Lujan Grisham

Lt. Governor – Howie Morales

Secretary of State – Maggie Toulouse Oliver

State Auditor – Brian Colon

State Treasurer – Tim Eichenberg

Attorney General – Hector Balderas

Commissioner of Public Lands – Stephanie Garcia Richard

Public Regulation Commission District 2 – Kevin Sanders

Chaves County Commissioner District 1 – Michael Trujillo

Judge of the Court of Appeals Position 1 – Kristina Bogardus

Judge of the Court of Appeals Position 2 – Jacqueline Medina

Judge of the Court of Appeals Position 3 – Briana Zamora

Judge of the Court of Appeals Position 4 – Megan Duffy

Judge of the Court of Appeals Position 5 – Jennifer Attrep

For more information, please visit the Secretary of State’s Website

DPCC Will Hold Special Election Saturday April 14th, 2018

The Democratic Party of Chaves County will hold a special election to fill the vacancies of one State Central Committee Member and our Vice Chair on:

Saturday, April 14th, 2018 at 10am (registration begins at 9am)

Holiday Inn (by Hampton Inn and Wal-Mart)

3620 N Main St, Roswell, NM 88201

You must be a registered Democrat to vote.

NOTE:  These positions do require some time and work as well as out of town travel at the person’s own expense.  Currently Chaves County has 4 SCC members including the Chair and Vice Chair.  As voter turnout increases in election years, that number of representation potentially increases and vice versa with lower turnouts.  SCC members travel to State Party meetings to vote on State Party matters such as the election of State Party Officers (ie State Party Chair and State Party Vice Chair) and State Party platforms. Every county has a different number of SCC members depending on their populations/voter turnouts.

Donations for Roswell Students to go to D.C. (Closeup.org)

FORWARDED:  Travis Ackerman is trying to raise funds to send his students to D.C. to take part in the Close Up Foundation’s Washington D.C. civic education program.  Close Up gives students the opportunity to experience their government in action and gain the skills, knowledge, and confidence they need to be engaged.

The program cost per student is $1,890 and is all-inclusive, travel expenses, academic workshops, meals, lodging and is truly the experience of a lifetime!

Your contribution would be an investment in our community’s future by helping students become active and informed citizens

Click Here to Donate
School participant ID:  nm046

Tax ID #:  23-7122882

Close Up is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit.

For more info feel free to contact Mr. Ackerman at tackerman@risd.k12.nm.us, or 575 637 5379 during the day, and 267 825 1291 during the evening.  You are also welcome to contact Close Up directly at 800-CLOSE-UP (256-7387) to learn more about their programs.

Thank you in advance for your consideration and support, and for making a positive difference in my life and our community!


Travis Ackerman

Social Studies Teacher – Roswell High School

Democratic Party of New Mexico Pre Primary Results (March 10th, 2018)


Jeff Apodaca    21.16%

Joseph Cervantes   10.05%

Peter DeBenedittis    1.91%

Michelle Lujan Grisham   66.88%

Lt. Governor

Jeff Carr     12.91%

Billy Garrett  8.87%

Rick Miera    27.94%

Howie Morales  50.28%

Secretary of State

Maggie Toulouse Oliver    100%

State Auditor

Brian Colon    39.40%

Bill McCamley   60.46%


Tim Eichenberg    100%

Attorney General

Hector Balderas    100%

Commissioner of Public Lands

Stephanie Garcia Richards    43.71%

George Munoz    17.19%

Garrett VeneKlasen    39.11%

Court of Appeals

Jennifer Attrep, Position 5    100%

Kristina Bogardus, Position 1    100%

Megan Duffy, Position 4     100%

Jacqueline Medina, Position 2    100%

Briana Zamora, Position 3     100%

U.S. Senate

Martin Heinrich   100%

Congressional District 1

Patrick Davis    13.55%

Debra Haaland    34.80%

Damian Lara     12.09%

Damon Martinez    10.81%

Paul Moya    3.66%

Antionette Sedillo Lopez    25.09%

Congressional District 2

Madeline Hildebrandt    34.25%

Xochitl Torres Small    65.75%

Congressional District 3

Ben Ray Lujan    100%


Source:  http://www.dpnm.net/2018/03/10/democrats-bring-energy-to-pre-primary-convention/